Untitled Art Society is an artist-run centre in Mohkinstsis/Calgary, Alberta, Treaty 7 Territory. Our core goals are: to support the development, creation, and presentation of new work by early-career artists; to provide affordable studio space for Calgary-based artists; and to broaden the reach and scope of contemporary art in Calgary, with the ultimate, if ambitious, aim to expose Calgarians to artistic work that explores pressing contemporary issues. We work toward these goals with an artist-centric approach that prioritizes the wholesale support of artists; creative and radical uses of spaces outside of the gallery; and a curatorial focus on projects and practices that dovetail with the specific socio-political, cultural, colonial, economic, and Indigenous histories and contexts of Alberta. Ultimately, Untitled strives to empower and support artists to imagine radical futures, and to invite those inside and outside of our community to be co-conspirators in realizing such futures.

We gratefully acknowledge funding from the Canada Council for the Arts, Alberta Foundation for the Arts, and Calgary Arts Development. Recent project funders include the Rozsa Foundation, the Calgary Foundation, Alberta Culture and Tourism, and the Alberta Foundation for the Arts, and ongoing support from Resolve Photo. We are a grateful recipient of one of the inaugural Lacey Prizes.

Main Space

​343 - 11th Avenue, SW
Calgary, AB T2R 0C7
(825) 994.3366

Wednesday to Saturday 11 am - 5 pm
Closed on Statutory Holidays.


Box 16 (4th floor)
319 - 10th Avenue, SW
Calgary, AB T2R 0A5

Open by appointment and for special events or workshops.
Please contact studios[at]uascalgary[dot]org for all enquiries.


Natasha Chaykowski / Director

Kaylee Maciejko / Programs and Facilities Coordinator

Subscribe to our newsletter

Please subscribe to our newsletter for information about programming, calls for submissions and employment opportunities.

Thank you! Check your email for confirmation.
Something went wrong while submitting the form. Refresh the page and try again.

Untitled Art Society was founded in 1994 in Mohkinstsis/Calgary, Alberta, Treaty 7 Territory, by a group of recent graduates of the Alberta College of Art + Design (now Alberta University of the Arts); these young artists created a studio collective as a means to continue to support each other, and their surrounding community, in the challenging environs outside of the structures of post-secondary arts education. In the context of the volatile real estate landscape in Alberta—reflective of the province’s boom-or-bust fluctuations—Untitled has been a steadfast cultural hub that has provided not only much-needed, affordable, physical space for artists to undertake their work, but also the non-material structures of community within which such work thrives. In the 25 years since our founding, this spirit of collaboration and support has guided the organization as we continue to learn, re-orient and grow.

In 2011, the organization rented a storefront gallery to provide a space for artists and curators to see new experimental and critical projects come to fruition, and for such projects to interface with a wider public. Since the acquisition of the gallery space,Untitled’s programming has expanded to include four major exhibitions a year, a robust publishing programme, experimental programming outside of the gallery space, talks, workshops, and international presentations of work by early-career Canadian artists. Currently, Untitled presents programming inside and outside of our gallery space, and maintains 23 subsidized studio spaces. As such, our organization supports not only the making of art by way of affordable studios, but also the presentation of art for diverse publics in Calgary and further afield.


Natasha Chaykowski / Director
Kaylee Maciejko / Programming and Facilities Coordinator
Mercedes Webb / Outreach Intern

Board of Directors

Brett Bonk / President
Tommi Watts / Vice-President
Elyse Bouvier / Secretary
Jenna Klein-Waller / Treasurer
Jeremy Pavka
Brittney Bear Hat
Teresa Tam
Stephanie Wong Ken
Jeanne Fries